The Alphabet of Right Now

I am enamored with the gorgeous writing of my friend, Lindsey, of A Design So Vast. She is beyond talented with words, and if you haven’t checked out her blog and the way she crafts sentences, then you need to click on over there right now. Yesterday, Lindsey posted her version of The Alphabet of Right Now. I loved her list and the way it revealed glimpses of who Lindsey is, what she’s about, and what’s on her mind these days. I also love the lists that Andrea of Hula Seventy often shares on her blog. I’m a list-girl at heart, truth be told. I then realized I’ve never shared a list here at Life Refocused. Well, it seems high time! I’m stealing Lindsey’s idea (I actually told her I was) and running with it.

A – Acorns. There are tons of fallen acorns in our neighborhood and they looked so breathtaking to me the other morning as I walked our dogs, that I had to head back out to capture a few.

B – Blogging. Yes, Lindsey said this too, but blogging has opened up a whole new world to me for which I’m grateful.

C – Chesapeake Bay. I miss the water of my upbringing.

D – Deadlines. They are approaching quickly.

E – Eugene. I spent a fabulous year in Eugene, Oregon for my pre-doctoral internship. Part of my heart still lives there.

F – Friendship. How grateful I am for connections near and far.

G – Gratitude. Still working to embrace an “attitude of gratitude.”

H – Health. Beyond grateful to be healthy.

I – Inspiration. I’m keeping my eyes and my heart open for inspiration everywhere.

J – Joy. My friend gave me a stone this past holiday with “joy” engraved on it as a reminder to seek more joy in my life.

K – Kansas. Bordering state to where I’ve lived for the past 10 years (although I’ve lived in 2 different states during this time) and the arch rival to my graduate school, University of Missouri.

L – Love. Choose love.

M – Monkey.

N – New York City. How I love you so.

O – Open. I want to open my heart, open my mind, open my spirit.

P – Parker.

Q – Quiet. I’m craving some quiet in my life these days.

R – Ripken.

S – Simon. Our dear neighbors lost their beloved dog this week and I miss him, too.

T – Trust. Not the word I chose for 2011, but the word I need.

U – Unravelling. I’m in Susannah’s tremendous class right now and love it. Wish I had more space and time for it right now, but I know it will reverberate for a long time to come.

V – Vicks Vapo Rub. The first time my partner put this on when he was sick, I realized I did choose someone like my father.

W – Washi tape. This stuff is gorgeous and I need some now (hint, hint).

X – X-ray. So glad to be past the biggest health crisis of my life (to date) and to not be getting x-rayed and scanned so constantly.

Y – Yoga. Although my January Yoga Journey got derailed due to illness, I’m getting back on the mat.

Z – Zebra. Used to be my favorite animal during my high school years. I had this National Geographic poster of two zebras and their fur looked like velvet.

This entry was posted in Community, Refocus, SOOC. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Alphabet of Right Now

  1. Lindsey says:

    I love this!!! Your acorns are gorgeous. And the similarities keep rolling – our family had a dog called Parker but he was a yellow lab … I took Unravelling last year and loved it … my uncle is a professor at Kansas … oh the search for quiet. Yes, yes, yes. So love this list! xox

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Alphabet of Right Now | Life Refocused -- Topsy.com

  3. I loved Lindsey’s list and I love yours! What a fun way to reveal bits and pieces of who we are. Am thrilled you like my hometown :)

  4. Tanya says:

    What a creative list, Meghan, and I LOVE the photos of your two kids (and the acorn photo as well). Collecting acorns reminds me of a day last spring when Samantha collected as many acorns as she could carry. I am grateful that she often reminds me to notice the little things, just as you did with this post:)

  5. Tiffany Hogan says:

    So creative Meghan. Love the pictures too. Sending you good vibes. :)

  6. Tiffany says:

    As you know, I am in love with your photos.
    And now I’m also smitten with your dogs, too! :)

Leave a Reply

