A Letter to October

Hello, October. When did you get here? How did you arrive so quickly? I’m happy you’re here with your crispness and cool air. I’m thrilled I can wear sweaters and jackets now, be comfortable after showering. But your arrival is…tainted.

You being here reminds me of all I need to get done, of looming deadlines, of words to be written (and not for fun). Your coming so fast has surprised me, taken me off guard, rattled my cage. I wasn’t quite ready for you, but you descended anyway. Without my consent.

I needed to prepare for your arrival, but now you’re…here. I feel somewhat trapped and enveloped by you. I know I can’t make you leave. Yet, I love you. You are the first real month of my favorite season. And that season is so fleeting that I often beg for it it stay. But, I really wasn’t ready.

Well, let me get my sweater. Perhaps we can have some hot chocolate and talk it over.

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Nature, SOOC, Swirling. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Letter to October

  1. Sarah Jean says:

    I can really relate to your ambivalence toward October — love the change of seasons, but hate that it means that time is moving so quickly. Beautiful leaf picture. I need to take some for picture fall. Also, I got that Polaroid camera from my lab and guess what? lt still has film in it! – YAY!

  2. Melissa says:

    I’m a summertime girl so I always greet this time of year with a shrinking horror. Not for what it is in itself (because autumn is, actually, gorgeous) but because of what it signals: leaves falling from trees, temperatures dropping, dreaded snowfall. I like the idea of talking it over with a hot chocolate, maybe seeing if October can stick around and at least not let it be November anytime soon?

  3. Emily says:

    On the east coast, Autumn is the one season where the change is so pronounced. Different colors, different temperatures, different routine. I think that’s why it delights and depresses me at the same time. I think they call that bittersweet. 🙂 Like a crisp apple, right?

  4. Amy says:

    Enjoy what you can, my friend, and hang in there with the many demands. xoxoxo

  5. Love Autumn too. What a stunning photo of that red leaf. Hot chocolate sounds goooood
    Beth

  6. Melissa says:

    Time does have a way of slipping away and before you know it autumn is here. I hope the hot chocolate and sweater can ease the looming deadlines…at least for a little while.

  7. love these images, the last one with the leaf …beauty!

    x

Leave a Reply

