A Wish (or two, or three…)

I struggle with self-criticism. With doubt. With perfectionism. Venturing into creative pursuits–photography, this blog, an art retreat–has been fabulous in so many ways, yet it has also tapped my vulnerabilities and insecurities. I’ve shared (some!) experiences of my impostor demons showing up, the comparison-monster overstaying her welcome. And, I’ve made some progress in quieting those internal naysayers. Yet in the past week or so, as an amazing opportunity has begun to reveal itself, I’ve witnessed myself feeling insecure. I’ve seen myself shift focus from what resonates for me to what others might like.

Thankfully, I have been given reminders that my creative pursuits are for me. That to turn my attention to what I think others like negates my truth. That to try to “fit in” is to be inauthentic. I’ve been encouraged to keep listening to my heart, my soul, my desires. I want to hold these messages close, keep them continually whispering in my ear. So, I’m going to set some intentions and cast a wish (or two, or three…) for myself:

I wish for trust in my own process.

I wish to show love, kindness, and forgiveness toward myself.

I wish to remember that perfection doesn’t keep us from being hurt, it keeps us from being seen.

I wish to remember that it is “deeply spiritual and holy to be who we are.”                  (Thank you, Brene Brown, for these last two).

These are a some wishes I’m casting today. What wishes are you blowing into the wind?

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Refocus, SOOC, Universe. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Wish (or two, or three…)

  1. Lovely post.

    I wish for the strength to be nicer to myself physically!
    I wish to help others understood the universe and trust their instincts

    Have a wonderful week xx

  2. Karen D says:

    Meghan,
    You seriously could have plucked this directly from my brain (sorry for the gross imagery, but it is Halloween time 😉
    Anyway I have been really feeling this since Squam. I still struggle with my own creative directions and dreams and I want my dream to be MINE, not a fellow friend or blogger I admire.

    May we both find our way to our true center and then may we both find a way to share that with the world!

    xo,
    KAren

  3. Tiffany Hogan says:

    Meghan – you give words to live by. I am printing them out right now!

  4. Melissa says:

    I love this…thank you for sharing.

    I wish that we would all realize that we are enough just as we are!

  5. Pingback: Monday Musings « Steps and Snips

  6. Celina Wyss says:

    Thank you for sharing this. It is a great message.

  7. Tom says:

    I don’t think it helps to think of creative pursuits as either *all* for one’s own satisfaction or *all* for external validation and praise.

    I think the best creative urges are ones that serve both sides. Of course you need to satisfy yourself first, otherwise you’re doing something hollow and soulless. But of course you also need other people to approve – we’re a social species.

    People who are extremely successfully creative and say things like “I wasn’t really concerned if anyone else liked it, I was just doing it for my own pleasure” are LIARS! The more money they’ve made from it, the bigger the lie.

  8. Laura says:

    Bah humbug to those imposter demons and that darn comparison monster too… send them packing!

    Keep listening to your heart!

    Let that light of yours SHINE!!!!

    You are creative, you are AMAZING… and you are doing just what you should be TODAY!

    Sending you love and positive energy!!!

    xxoo Laura

  9. Susan says:

    Once again, you make me stop and think that you are somehow channeling my feelings, although your way of wording it sounds much better than anything I could have expressed. We may not have been in contact for several years, but the Meghan that I once knew was one of the strongest women that I had ever met. Strong and self-confident are not necessarily synonyms, but I think that your strength as a person outweighs, or at least it should outweigh, the need for validation from others. Opening yourself up on this blog is a way to show how vulnerable you are prepared to be by sharing your most intimate fears and desires…a way to show us that you accept yourself for who you are, and you know what? We accept you just the same way, and that’s why we love you! 🙂

  10. Breathless from this. It’s so so lovely. I’ve made my way over from Brene’s site, and I’m glad I did. I feel as though you might be a kindred spirit. And I hope you don’t mind me casting my own wish here: I wish for self-confidence.

  11. Tammy says:

    Great post. AND I love your photo – reminds me of childhood days of running over to carefully pick it and gently blow all the seeds away. So here’s gently blowing wishes in your direction:
    1. I wish you knew how incredibly talented you are!
    2. I wish we both have fun with our creativity!
    3. I wish I could send you a ‘smores through the internet!
    xoxoxo

  12. grace moore says:

    I wish you lived closer.x0

  13. Grace says:

    as you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well. Your wishes are those that can be felt and shared by many 🙂

  14. Jess Greene says:

    I wish to live closer to you! 🙂 actually I had a dream that you lived down the street from one of my childhood homes (not far from me now) and was very excited until I realized it was a dream. That was a few weeks ago but I forgot to tell you.

Leave a Reply

