Juxtaposition

I’ve been working on embracing that “attitude of gratitude.” Really, I have. And part of me truly views my life through that lens and is grateful–for opportunities with work, for meaningful relationships, for new creative endeavors. Such richness. And still…I’m feeling quite swirly. I’m a sea inside of stress. I’m a runaway train of thought. I’m a dark and twisty shadow.

I’m trying to honor these swirly parts of myself. I’m trying to embrace that they are my truth, at least for right now. I’m trying to hold them, gently, reassuring them that “all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.” And while I’m allowing the sea to rage and the train to run its course, I’m still working to embrace gratitude. To see the happiness and love that also surrounds me. To hold the juxtaposition of my multiple truths.

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Funk, Refocus, SOOC, Swirling. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Juxtaposition

  1. THE GUEST HOUSE
    This being human is a guest house.
    Every morning a new arrival.
    A joy, a depression, a meanness,
    some momentary awareness comes
    as an unexpected visitor.
    Welcome and entertain them all!
    Even if they are a crowd of sorrows,
    who violently sweep your house
    empty of its furniture,
    still, treat each guest honorably.
    He may be clearing you out
    for some new delight.
    The dark thought, the shame, the malice.
    meet them at the door laughing and invite them in.
    Be grateful for whatever comes.
    because each has been sent
    as a guide from beyond.
    — Jelaluddin Rumi,
    translation by Coleman Barks

  2. “I’m trying to honor these swirly parts of myself.”

    I love this. Isn’t this the hardest work of all, trying to revere who it is we really are beneath the glossy surface?

  3. Laura says:

    Your glass is most assuredly– always– way more– than half full… sending you loads of love today…

  4. Lindsey says:

    I am sorry that you are feeling swirly and twisty, but I know absolutely how that feels, and am wading in the same waters myself right now.
    Also, further proof we are kindred is that I just included that same line in my blog in the last few months. So reassuring, isn’t it? Oh, God, I hope it is true.

  5. Gretta says:

    I can tell you that half the adventure in life is self discovery. Since we are always in a state of change, the journey is never ending. I say embrace the surprise of the curve, its much more fun!

    BTW I love the pic of the shadow on the curtain. 😉

Leave a Reply

