Off to NYC

I’m off. To NYC. I *love* New York. LOVE it. I’m super excited about this trip and also a bit nervous. The nervousness is due to the primary reason I’m heading to NYC. A little back-story…I’ve admired the work of a rockstar social psychologist for almost 10 years. I first heard her speak at a conference when I was a graduate student back in 2001. All these many years later, I can still remember the chills I got, the way the hairs on my arms stood up, the inspiration I felt from hearing her talk. I fantasized about figuring out a way to work with her, maybe taking a leave from my program and studying with her for a semester in NYC, or something like that. But that never came to pass. I finished my graduate program, did a post-doc, then secured my current faculty position. No time to spend in NYC learning from a scholar who wasn’t even in my field or part of my graduate program.

Then this summer, I decided to email her. Why not? What did I have to lose? We set up a phone call and she was fantastic. She was amazingly encouraging and invited me to come visit her and her team in New York to explore my ideas for a grant proposal. YIPEE! And this brings me to my reason for traveling to NYC–to meet with the rockstar social psychologist to talk about her mentoring me on a big mama grant. And therein lies the nervousness. I need to get over my celebrity-like view of her and calm down. I need to trust that I am prepared enough to talk intelligently with her about my ideas. But I do kinda want to pinch myself that I’m meeting with her for two days to talk about my ideas and how I can be mentored by her in the way she conducts life-changing, meaningful, powerful research. Truly grateful for this opportunity.

And then, after what I hope are fruitful discussions and brainstorming sessions with the rockstar social psychologist, I get to PLAY in the city!! So much fun in store. I serendipitously will be in NYC while the fabulous Shutter Sisters are hosting an event, and I get to meet the wonderful Tracey Clark in person. My friend Melissa of The Long Haul Project is coming down from Boston for the weekend to join me, and we have lots of plans including hitting the Brooklyn Flea, visiting the women’s photography exhibit currently at MOMA, taking a class at the Lomography Gallery Store, and eating lots of terrific food. I hope to have tons of photographs to share with you when I get back. For now, I’m casting wishes, like releasing balloons, for a productive and playful adventure.

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Community, SOOC. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Off to NYC

  1. Melissa says:

    Can’t wait to see you! Enjoy Shutter Sisters for me, sad I’ll miss it.

  2. I too love NYC. I’m craving a pastrami sandwich from Katz’s Deli at 205 E Houston. The baloon photo is great. The comparison to UP is obvious. Have a great time discovering you on the inside.
    http://adisney.go.com/disneyvideos/animatedfilms/up/

  3. Karen D says:

    Oh you are going to have so much fun, can’t wait to see the pictures.. wish I could go to the Shutter Sisters event as i live in NJ, but I have plans that night.

  4. Emily says:

    Good luck!!! I too find myself completely star struck by people that inspire me — but remember your rockstar will benefit from meeting you too! Can’t wait to hear.

    Love the purple balloons and you in the frame. 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    YAY FOR THE APPLE! So excited for your trip and can’t wait for the full scoop… amazing when dreams come true. Good for you for following up with the rockstar psychologist, and remember, YOU are in fact quite a rockstar psychologist YOURSELF! She’s lucky to have you on her team, and the grant will be all the better. Sending you balloons and good wishes (though my mentally sent balloons for you are RED and GREEN rather than purple…) love love love…

  6. Retta says:

    This sounds like a wonderful trip! I love that you emailed someone you admired and good things are coming from that. I can’t wait to read more about your adventures here. Happy, safe travels!

  7. Elizabeth says:

    One of the things I admire most about you is your ability to make things happen and will the things you want into existence. And I’m more than a wee bit jealous that you get to go to NYC!

  8. Lindsey says:

    Sounds totally fabulous!!! I wish I could come meet you. xox

  9. Celina Wyss says:

    Oh my goodness. I am so happy for you. Have a wonderful trip!

  10. Sarah Jean says:

    Have a great trip and you know that I LOVE the picts! Can’t wait to see you when you get back!

  11. misspatch says:

    have FUN!
    and good luck with your mentor. very exciting…
    and if you feel like doing any fabric shopping, 3 yards will make you a dress ;n)

  12. Christa says:

    The photo exhibit at MOMA is wonderful… Enjoy!

  13. Tiffany Hogan says:

    Meghan
    She is the lucky one for getting to meet and work with you!!! Seriously!!! Have a great time. Can’t wait to hear all about it.
    Tiffany

  14. mary says:

    You go girl! Have a great time

  15. Darlene says:

    such an incredible evening at the Snap Happy hour – great to meet you and loved meeting Tracey Clark. Hope you enjoy the rest of the time in NYC.

  16. Jennifer says:

    It was so wonderful meeting you at the shutter sisters meet up. What a wonderful small world we live in. Looking forward to learning more about your life’s adventures. I hope the rest of your time in NYC was a blast.

  17. Pingback: Reflections | Life Refocused

  18. Pingback: Coast to Coast | Life Refocused

Leave a Reply

