Turning Toward 2011

Ahhh. The swirl of the holidays is past. I’m feeling grateful to be back home, returned from my visit “back home.” Like I thought it would be, the trip was one of ups and downs, of excitement and dread. It was…the holidays. My holidays. As much as I work to manage my expectations, there is a part of me that always (dare I use the superlative) feels a certain melancholy, a particular let-down regarding Christmas. As foolish as this may sound, there is still a young girl in me who wants to feel enchanted, who is hoping for something magical. There is also an adult in me who longs for yearly traditions that have been part of my life since I was a child. But enchantment and magic aren’t felt. And I don’t have age-old, family traditions to replay year after year.  Thus…I’m happy it is past. I can take a deep breath and turn toward 2011. A new year. A new beginning. A new birth.

I love how this time of year encourages me to take stock of my journey, to reflect on where I’ve been and dream of where I’d like to venture. A year ago this very week, I set intentions for what I wanted for my life in 2010. It was a rather beautiful experience as I lit a candle for each intention that I set. As I look back on this year, I see that a solid handful of them were fulfilled, some more completely than others. And as I dream of 2011, my intentions for this coming year echo many of those from the year past as well as sound new calls.

Engaging in Reverb10 has helped me shape clearer intentions for this new year, such as mindfully choosing a word to encapsulate my longings for 2011 (creativity), clearing space by eliminating 11 things from my life, and considering something I want to try (mixed media painting). During this coming year, I want to truly embrace creativity in every aspect that I can–in my photography, my journalling, my blogging, my new adventures in painting, my research, my knitting, my clothing choices, my connections with others, my spirit, and my very outlook on life. I want to jump into new creative opportunities that come my way, without believing “I’m not good at that” or “I can’t do that.” I want to continue my letter-writing with dear friends, as this has been such a gift to me to slow down, and sit with pen and paper, hand-writing a loving letter. I want to live in a more embodied manner, focusing on connecting mind-body-spirit. I’m even considering a self-imposed yoga challenge for January to kickstart this intention. I want to read more and watch less. I want to be more present with my partner (and I want more date nights!). I want to make conscious choices of how I spend my time. I want to embrace an attitude of gratitude, every day.

This is just a start to my dreams for 2011. I’m ecstatic realizing all the potential this new year brings. My story is still being written, and it is magical to recognize that I can choose what gets written next. What are your intentions for 2011? What will your story be?

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Refocus, SOOC. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Turning Toward 2011

  1. Lindsey says:

    Meghan,
    This is such a beautiful, resonant post. Your reflections on the holidays and the tension that exists between now and then, what we wanted and still do, and what is really speak to me. And in terms of your desires for 2011, they are much like mine, though so much more gorgeously expressed. Thanks for being in my life in 2010, and I look forward to so much more this new year.
    xo

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I love the new year, too! I plan on doing a post with all of my intentions for the new year in the coming days. At the top of my list? Do less.

  3. Tiffany Hogan says:

    Your posts always get me thinking, and feeling positive. Thank you!

  4. grace says:

    dearest,
    what a beautiful post. i am so grateful to have shared a bit of 2010 with you.
    so true, the longing for tradition. i think it’s cellular, like laughter and love.
    i wish you countless blessings in 2011.
    big wonderful full body hugs to you,
    grace

  5. Celina Wyss says:

    This makes me smile. My blog is scheduled to post in the morning but after you read it you will know why. We are very similar paths. Happy New Year!!

  6. Jeanine says:

    I completely relate to the holiday letdown! The little girl in me gets her hopes up every year and somewhere in the middle of December, I realize that, already, the month has not met my expectations. The day never does, either.

    But the day after Christmas is usually just fine and every day afterward gets better, freed from the pressure of living up to the dream!

    My theme for 2011 is “remember who you are” so if I picked a word, it would be “remember.”

    Like you, I am grateful for 2010 and I look forward to seeing what the next year brings!

    Jeanine

  7. Melissa says:

    I will echo the sentiment that you perfectly summed up what can be so hard about the holidays. It’s hard to let go of the idealized expectations, and always a little bit of a let down when they aren’t realized. Wonderful to be dreaming about 2011– a new year full of possibilities is such a wonderful thing. Here’s to truly embracing creativity!

  8. rebecca says:

    Okay lady, get out of my mind! I can relate so closely to everything you are feeling, its a little unnerving in some ways! ha! But I am wishing you so much joy, creativity, peace and mystery for this new year! I think it will be even more amazing than you dream it could be!! Enjoy! 🙂

  9. Nathalie says:

    Love your posts. I can totally connect with what you’re saying as my blog had the same start: be more alive creatively and in every aspect of my life. Good luck with all of it. x

  10. Beautiful post! I so relate to the holiday conflict of what we hope for and the reality of what they are. Your intentions for 2011 are so similar to mine! So here’s to having an awesome creative year!

  11. Sarah Jean says:

    Love this post! The acceptance of the present and hope for the future really resonate 🙂 Can’t wait to catch up later this week!

Leave a Reply

