Around Here

It’s been cold and snowing around here of late. With the start of the semester being delayed due to weather, I’ve had a bumbling few days that could best be described as “not-getting-a-damn-thing-done” kind of days. I have a ton of research writing on my plate, yet I’ve found myself stalled out this week. It feels hard to jump into my work when the university is closed and my writing buddy and I are snowed out from our regular meet-up. But, that’s about to change. It needs to change.

As I’ve bumbled about this week, I’ve been contemplating my relationship to my work. I’ve been considering the ways in which I get stressed–very stressed–thinking about all the papers I need to write, the manuscripts that need to be revised, the statistical analyses that need to be run, the pre-tenure documents that need to be prepared for late February, the grant application that is due in early March…I realize how much I lose sight of where I am in my life. I forget, so easily, that I have the exact job that I want. The exact job that I went back to school for eons ago. The exact job that affords me the variety and autonomy I want and need. The exact job that allows me to impact people’s lives and make a contribution. And I don’t want to overlook this point. If I have to work (and I do have to work), and if I can’t have my fantasy job as a travel food critic and photographer, then I want the very job I have. And that is amazing. How lucky am I to actually have the job I want? So, I’m gonna try to quit my bitchin’, as they say. I’m going to refocus my attention on the appreciation I have for my job, and aim to approach each writing task with a more joyful heart and grateful spirit.

In addition to this shift in perspective, my bumbling and the weather had another upside. It allowed me to find some inspiration and take some photographs! The top photo of snow on the window reminds me of dandelions, with the blown petals of a wish. The next two, well let’s just say we’ve enjoyed some happy breakfasts with homemade buttermilk biscuits.

And finally, how exquisite, how sweet are these purple berries in their hats of snow?

So, what’s going on where you are?

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Nature, Polaroid, Refocus, SOOC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Around Here

  1. Melissa says:

    Yay to being happy with your work and yay to taking some lovely photography. Love your happy breakfast! What’s going on where I am is that I am realizing more and more that I am not happy in my work and not doing what I love, and it’s getting harder every day. I have some big decisions to make, and they are weighing heavy on me. It’s great to have your many reminders here and on other social media about keeping things in perspective and being positive. I appreciate it!

  2. Ken McRae says:

    So insightful to notice that inside the “perfect” set-up bitching abounds proving that true happiness has very little to do with the outside world’s circumstances.

  3. pieces of me says:

    snow here too……….sort of stir crazy, but hanging in there. I often sabotage things for myself when they are going good as if I don’t deserve them. we do deserve them!

    I love your snowflakes!

  4. Tiffany Hogan says:

    Amazing pictures Meghan!! I love your post – really speaks to me today as I continue to write on a paper that I’ve been working on for weeks! We are very lucky, aren’t we…

  5. Celina Wyss says:

    Love the pretty snow photo.

  6. darlene says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ since we are getting another four days of snow and i am in love with your pretty nature snow photos, i am strapping on the snowshoes this weekend and heading out for wonderland snow adventures. and maybe some baking too! xo

  7. Elizabeth says:

    This morning at 2:30 am I was heard grumbling, “God I hate my life.” I’ve gotta kick this piss-poor attitude; I’m tired of it. No snow here, just a lot of cold.

  8. kimber bowers says:

    looks like you found your light, even in the snow ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

