Breathing with Self-Kindness

Not much has changed since last week with the exception that I’m physically feeling much better. Still not 100%, but definitely on the mend from whatever illness had me in its snare. However, the swirling continues, rather intensely. I’m working on accepting that I will likely feel swirly until all these deadlines hit. Rather than pushing against the stress and anxiety of all that is on my plate, I’m trying to take deep breaths, continue to work, and treat myself and look at myself with as much kindness as I can.

I have this image in my head – it’s actually a metaphor my graduate school mentor shared with me years ago – of a row of plates spinning on tall poles. Do you know what I’m talking about? You might see this “trick” at a circus or carnival. The person has about 10 poles set up vertically, and then she places a plate atop each pole and starts them spinning. To keep them all going, she has to continually run up and down the line of poles, keeping careful watch of plates that might be slowing down so that she can give them a gentle nudge to keep them spinning. If a plate stops spinning, it will fall and crash into a million pieces. My mentor told me that this image is what comes to mind when she is managing multiple projects and deadlines. And now, that’s what I’m thinking of…spinning plates, running up and down the line, giving a touch to the ones that look like they’re slowing down, and then checking on the others.

With my focus on spinning plates, I feel a bit out of touch, out of communication, out of the loop with friends and my community. I’ve hardly been on Twitter or Facebook these past couple of weeks, and I also have not been able to respond to emails, phone calls, or letters in my usually way. I don’t like this side of the spinning plates and the swirling very much, but I imagine this disconnection will persist for a few more weeks as I manage these work obligations.  Know that I miss you all and send me good work vibes. Please.

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Refocus, Self-portrait, SOOC, Swirling. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Breathing with Self-Kindness

  1. i.ikeda says:

    Sending lots of good vibes your way.

    I was feeling much the same way last night, coming home after 7 to put a baby to bed and then continue to do work until 1 am. I like the spinning plates metaphor.

    Hang in there, the work will be done at some point and then you can breathe…

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I can certainly relate. As someone who is used to being on top of everything all the time, I am really struggling to embrace the chaos that is my life right now. Hang in there! I’ll be waitingbon the other side.

    In other news, I thought those were red and pink chicken eggs until I saw the Ms 🙂 what, you couldn’t get a shot of spinning plates? 😉

  3. Laura says:

    Keep those plates a’ spinnin’ and we’re sending good vibes your way!!! The secret of life is enjoying the passing of time……….. love you!

  4. Lindsey says:

    That image really reasonates … sending vibes. xox

  5. kimber bowers says:

    ~~~vibes~~~~good~~~~meghan~~~vibes~~~good~~~meghan~~~vibes… you get the point

  6. Celina Wyss says:

    Hang in there! Sending you lots of good vibes! We’ll be here when things settle down!

  7. Christa says:

    Oh, I am so glad you are managing to be kind to yourself in the midst of all those spinning objects…

    Lots of good vibes of all kinds to you…

    Just posted on this very concept last night – funny…

    XOXO

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention Breathing with Self-Kindness | Life Refocused -- Topsy.com

  9. darlene says:

    oh baby can i relate to the spinning plates and i was home sick yesterday but forced myself to work today, fuzzy headed and trying to keep it together … sending you understanding even as i take inspiration from breathing with self kindness over here … xoxox

  10. Sarah says:

    Glad I get to see you *in person* and don’t have to worry about catching up on facebook, twitter, or whatever. Sending you happy vibes and hope you can lean into self-care!

  11. Nathalie says:

    Loving the image! Good luck with all that. Sometimes we just need time out, and the plates turn on themselves.

  12. Sending you good vibes. Ah, spinning. Great minds think alike, no? 🙂

  13. mary says:

    The spinning plates is such a great way to describe that!

    Yes, I’ll certainly be here once you’re back. Hang in there.

    And, of course, I’m sending you all sorts of good vibes, too!

    🙂

  14. Amy says:

    Hi, Meghan! I would never be presumptuous to assume that I had been the one to tell you this back in the day, but this is absolutely the way I felt during the second year of my doctoral program in particular. At that time I was so overly stretched that every week some plate would crash. My aim was simply to do my best and try not to have it be the same plate more than once. It was terribly humbling and difficult. May you have compassion for yourself. May you create regular space for self-care and self-reflection. Sending you love.

  15. it’s ok to be out of touch when you are focusing on yourself and your life! 😀

    sending love and good balance your way!

Leave a Reply

