PhotoFest Contest

This week is brimming with news here at Life Refocused. The Sheldon Art Museum in town is hosting the Lincoln PhotoFest Contest, and I’ve thrown my hat in the ring. The museum and galleries around town have exhibited photography during the past few weeks, and the contest asked participants to visit these exhibits. Then, inspired by the images seen, participants were instructed to take their own photos and create abstract images. A bit of a daunting task, but I decided that the contest would allow me to stretch creatively. And, I thought it would help me have some fun to look forward to amidst the work and academic deadlines I am managing. Each participant was allowed to submit 5 photos and they were “due” Tuesday night. Without further ado, here are the 5 images I selected to enter into the contest.

First, a double exposure using Polaroid film.

Next, an authentic self-portrait.

Then a little love for my obsession.

Next, a frosty reflection.

And last, a watery reflected obsession.

I’m excited about the contest, if not a bit nervous. Like the photography show last month, I feel a bit vulnerable in entering the PhotoFest Contest. But I’m glad I’ve taken this next step…it’s all a part of this creative journey. There are three jurors for the contest and they will select a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winner next week. A “fan favorite” is also going to be awarded based on the most “likes” the photo receives on the Sheldon Museum of Art’s Facebook Page. So, if you like any of my photos and want to vote for the “fan fave,” here’s what you do.

1. Go to the Sheldon Museum of Art’s Facebook Page and “like” the page.

2. Then go to the Lincoln PhotoFest 2011 album on the Sheldon’s Facebook Page.

3. Once there, you can see all the photos submitted for the contest. If you want to “like” a specific photo, you must click on the individual photo. There are some really great shots that folks submitted. If you’re looking for mine (shameless, I know), they are located on the 4th and 5th rows from the bottom.

I’d love your support if you like any of my photos I submitted for the contest! And if you like some of the other entries, those photographers would appreciate your support, too! Wish me luck. xoxo

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Community, Polaroid, Refocus, Self-portrait, SOOC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to PhotoFest Contest

  1. Laura says:

    Beautiful work, Megs! Congratulations and keep up the awesome momentum! Love love love you and are proud of you every day!

  2. Sarah Jean says:

    You go girl! Love the photos and glad that you are doing photography, even as other demands are breathing down your neck!

  3. Tanya says:

    Amazing, Meghan! Your passion for your craft obviously shows:) Good luck–I finished my voting.

    Tanya

  4. Erika says:

    Is it copyright infringement if I set one of these gorgeous pics as my desktop?

  5. mary says:

    Done! Good luck.

    Your pictures are beautiful.

  6. great pics. Loads of luck. I too recently entered a photo competition with some of my new work and I’ve never done this before and I found out a couple of weeks ago I’ve been shortlisted and selected for exhibition. Am soooo excited! I will find out on Thurs at the award ceremony about winning anything! The great thing is they are fab photography/camera prizes which would be brilliant as much as anything else. Great doing what we love though 🙂

    Amelia.x

Leave a Reply

