“The Girl”

It’s mid-March. Whew. How did we get here? For me, it’s been a full 2.5 months since the start of 2011. Although I’ve spent a good deal of time lamenting the amount of work I had on my plate, I’m beyond pleased to share that I’ve met all of those external deadlines. As I’ve been feeling a bit of freedom in my head and heart since the deadlines have been met, I’ve noticed my attention turning toward longings. Toward hopes. Toward *big* dreams. And I’ve been reminded of this young girl…

She feels so far away from me. I even referred to her (well, this photo) this week as “the girl.” I know she still dwells inside me…somewhere. I wonder what she longed for. What she hoped. What she dreamed.  I’m wanting to spend some time getting reacquainted with her, with me. The girl she was and the woman I am.

What about you? Does “the girl” or “the boy” reside deep within you?

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Refocus, Self-portrait, SOOC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “The Girl”

  1. pieces of me says:

    oh does this hit home….there is definitely a little girl stuck in there.

  2. Celina Wyss says:

    You go girl, dream big. Sending you and the girl inside of you big hugs.

  3. Melissa says:

    I feel I lost the girl for a while. But strangely, the older I get the closer she seems again.

  4. Karen says:

    My girl has been a bit lost for awile also, thanks for the reminder to get back in touch with her.

    hugs
    Karen

  5. Tanya says:

    Great photo within a photo, Meghan. I feel like I’ve been out of touch with “my girl” for a while now. However, I do have a “Mini Me” that helps to remind me of all of the wonders of childhood:)

  6. Tiffany Hogan says:

    Congratulations Meghan on reaching your many deadlines! You rock!! As for me, my inner child wants more sleep these days. 🙂

  7. Emily says:

    My girl is probably 10 years old and fearless. I think that is what I miss most about her — her confidence that she will succeed and anything and everything. Thinking about her makes me happy.

  8. Pingback: To Be An “Artist” | Life Refocused

Leave a Reply

