The Next Step

I’ve been in a definite funk the past few weeks. Everything is fine, really. Lots to be grateful for, in fact. Yet, I’ve had a case of the blahs. I’ve been walking around with these feelings of sadness just below the surface, tears waiting for any opportunity to roll (have you seen those new Google Chrome commercials with Lady Gaga and Dan Savage?!? Those get me every time). As I’ve journaled most mornings and written about this funk, I’ve tried to figure out where these blahs are stemming from. I realize that much of it has to do with expectations, desires, and waiting on a decision or action from someone else. I am beginning to see that I’m giving scads of power over to others, and not holding much of my own. So yesterday, as I went to a much-needed yoga class, I set a new mantra for myself: “TRUST. I have done my part.”

I have done my part. And I cannot control the actions of others. I can only do my part. And you know what, repeating that mantra, reminding myself of that, is helping. I can only take the next step. Honor the journey. And maybe Lady Gaga has it right, maybe I’m on the edge of glory.

About Meghan

Love Warrior. Psychologist. Photographer. Writer. Yogi. Gypsy. Lover of Polaroid, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Funk, Refocus, SOOC, Universe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Next Step

  1. Tiffany Hogan says:

    I’ve been using a similar mantra lately. Wonder if it has a bit to do with the change from school year to summer? I always feel excitement lined with unease about this transition – too many expectations – that I place on myself.

    As always, thank you for the honest post. I look forward to seeing you tonight!

  2. Sherry Smyth says:

    Your thoughts and your emotions describe how I have been feeling lately myself. My “unease” stems from change that is happening around me – good change, change that is necessary and next steps change but it’s having a similar effect on me as what you describe. “Trust” is what I need and “I have done my part”. I like this mantra…it certainly applies as I face the life of an empty nester within the next few months. Reading your post and your mantra has given me something positive to focus on. thank you for that! xo

  3. Ken McRae says:

    You are the journey – not the destination nor the one on the journey.
    Fantastic photo.

  4. Sarah Jean says:

    Love this post, Meghan! Thanks for sharing. Trust is so important, but so difficult at the same time. Focusing on the next small step is great advice (but so difficult to follow). Lovely picture 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    Hey, Megs. It was great to have you and Lechero here last weekend, I’m sorry you’re feeling the BLAHs– I sure didn’t get the sense you were less than 100% happy during our time together!

    The secret of life, most certainly, is enjoying the passing of time. Focus on the NOW :). A good life lesson I am continually reminded of by YOU.

    WE LOVE YOU and can’t wait for Colorado! Meanwhile, one foot in front of the other, and focus on the good stuff– and there is ever so much good stuff!

    xo Laura

  6. Emily says:

    I love love love that mantra not only because it brings peace to the mind but also responsibility. You can’t say it if you haven’t done your part. Keeps you peaceful and honest with yourself. Thanks for sharing and hope we can work through the blahs in, uh, A WEEK!!!!

  7. darlene says:

    i know these blahs oh too well … you are so beautiful in your sharing … thank you! and can’t wait to squeeze you … eeeeeeeee xoxo

  8. suvarna says:

    good insights, i’ve enjoyed your sharing.

  9. Sylvia says:

    Hi Meghan! I noticed your entry at Kind Over Matter and noticed you live in the Pacific Northwest. I live in Spokane, Washington and had to stop by and say hello. We sure live in a beautiful part of the country.

  10. Pingback: Coast to Coast | Life Refocused

  11. Pingback: Coast to Coast | Life Refocused

Leave a Reply

